NCNR User Group (NUG) Executive Committee Minutes from conference call on November 10, 2016

Present from NIST:

Present NUG executive committee members:

Topic 1: NIST update

The new guest wifi network is now available on the site. Does not require a password.

Topic 2: Election for executive committee members

We discussed the plan for the elections. We have identified that Megan Robertson, the current vice chair, will remain on the committee for an additional two years to serve as chair. For this reason, we will not elect a soft matter representative during this election. Megan will transition off of the committee at the end of 2018. In the future, the vice chair will always be chosen from the incoming members of the committee, to avoid this issue, and will serve as chair during his or her third and fourth year on the committee.

Thus:

Alan Nakatani, Amber Larson, and Michael Mackay have finished their terms on the committee.

Megan Robertson, Igor Zaliznyak, Rafael Verduzco, and Mike Crawford will continue for the next two years.

We will elect three additional members: one in hard condensed matter, one from industry, and one student/postdoc member.

The survey will be conducted through survey monkey (facilitated by David Baxter at Indiana). NIST will send the committee an updated NUG email list.

We discussed potential nominees based on suggestions from the committee members. We agreed to avoid anyone serving on BTAC due to the large amount of work required for that service to NIST. We will also find students whose advisor is not currently on the committee or running for election.

Next call: week of December 12